Departments (20)

Monday, 03 June 2013 17:48

Department of Zoology


The Department of Zoology was established in 1955. The Department offers post graduate courses to students studying for further degrees leading to Master of Science and Master of Research degrees. The doctoral programme is also in place and currently there are 33 Ph.D degree holders. The Department maintains a library, a museum and three modern laboratories. A small butterfly house is now in operation with the Professor of Zoology heading a team of dedicated researchers from the Department.

Monday, 03 June 2013 17:46

Department of Psychology


During the early years the Department of Psychology was part of the Department of Philosophy but emerged as a separate Department of Psychology in 1952. The Psychology Department's objectives are to acquire an in-depth knowledge of what psychology is and to acquire a set of general personal transferable skills and capabilities to set the student on the road to a lifetime of independent development.

Monday, 03 June 2013 17:44

Department of Physics


The Department of Physics came into existence together with Yangon University in 1920. The Department aims to teach and also investigate all the aspects of physics as related to human existence and his environment and the best ways to harness the forces of nature for its benefit and also to produce future physicists of high caliber.

Monday, 03 June 2013 17:41

Department of Philosophy


The Department was established in 1920 and offers a wide selection of courses covering both traditional and contemporary schools of thought. The curriculum is well organized to help students acquire the necessary skills of reading and comprehension, conceptual analysis and argumentation. The Philosophy Department offers courses leading to Master of Arts, Master of Research and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D) in Philosophy.

Monday, 03 June 2013 17:36

Department of Oriental Studies


This is one of the oldest Departments of the University as it came into existence together with the University in 1920.There are Tutors, AssistantLecturers, Lecturers, and a Professor in the Department. Three part-time Professors andthree Venerable Sayadaws from the International Theravada Buddhist Missionary University and one Venerable Sayadaw from the State Pariyatti Sasana University are acting as part time Lecturers.

Monday, 03 June 2013 17:34

Department of Myanmar


The Department of Myanmar Established in 1941. Currently the Department offers courses leading to Master of Arts, Master of Researchand Doctor of Phiiosophy(Ph.D) in the Myanmar language and literature. The Department offers courses on studies of ancient Myanmar languages, contemporary Myanmar language, General Linguistics and Phonetics, Sociolinguistics, Semantics and Stylistics plus studies on ancient and contemporary Myanmar literature.

Monday, 03 June 2013 17:31

Department of Mathematics


This Department was also created together with YangonUniversity in 1920. There are 81 staff members in the Department.The Department offers Masterof Science, Master of Research and Ph.D degrees.

The Department of Library and Information Studies came into existence on part-time basis from June 1971 to 1997. At that time, the Department‘s name was Library Science. U Thaw Kaung, Chief Librarian of the Universities’ Central Library, served as Head of the part –time department for more than two and a half decades. The Department has produced over 300 post-graduate diploma holders who are now serving in various local and international libraries. In 1997, it was re-structured as the 19th department of the University under the new name, “Library and Information Studies”. Then, it was headed by Professor U Thein Lwin from 1997 to 2007. U Thein Shwe became Head of Department from 2007 to 2011. At present, Daw Htay Htay Win (Lecturer) acts as Head of Department. The Department has thirteen Faculty staffs and two office staffs.

Monday, 03 June 2013 17:12

Department of Law


The Department of Law came into existence in 1920 together with the Rangoon University, what is today the University of Yangon (YU). It was one of seven original affiliated faculties of the Rangoon University. During the early years, the Law Department only offered a law degree known as Bachelor of Laws (BL) degree as a part-time post graduate degree course. The BL Degree consisted of a two year course of study.

This is a relatively new department as it was established only in 1984. There are 28 teaching staffs at the Department for 2013-2014 academic year. The Department offers courses leading to Diploma in International Relations, Master of Arts, Master of Research and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D) degree. The studies cover governmental systems and politics, major political, economic, environmental and social issues in international relations around the world.

Page 1 of 2


Make sure you dont miss interesting happenings by joining our newsletter program.

Contact us

Please use the following info to reach us.

  • Phone: 514908

Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.
You are here: Home Departments Departments